Taiwan News Encyclopedia: Five Yuans

  • 10 May, 2014
  • Editor

The central government of Taiwan consists of the Office of the President and five branches. The five branches are the Executive Yuan, the Legislative Yuan, the Judicial Yuan, the Examination Yuan, and the Control Yuan.

The Executive Yuan, also known as the Cabinet, is led by the premier, who is appointed by the president. Under the Cabinet are 13 ministries and 14 ministerial level organizations. The 13 ministries are the ministries of the interior, national defense, foreign affairs, finance, education, justice, economic affairs, transportation and communications, culture, labor, agriculture, health and welfare, and environmental protection.

The Legislative Yuan is the highest law-making body of the state. It is made of 113 representatives elected by the people. Of those, six lawmakers are elected by votes from Taiwan’s aboriginal population. They serve for four years and are eligible to stand for re-election indefinitely.

The Judicial Yuan is the highest judicial organ of the state. The 15 justices of the Judicial Yuan are nominated and appointed by the president of the Republic with the consent of the Legislative Yuan. 

The Examination Yuan is responsible for the nation's civil service system. It oversees examinations and all legal and other matters relating to the employment of civil servants.

The Control Yuan exercises the powers of impeachment, censure and audit. The 29 Control Yuan members are nominated and appointed by the president with the consent of the Legislative Yuan for a term of six years, which may be renewed.


Latest Newsmore